Midnight Cowboy [1969]

cowboy_de_medianoche_1969_3“Whoopee-tee-yi-yo. Get along little dogies. It’s your misfortune and none of my own.”

Director : John Schlesinger

Writer : Waldo Salt, James Leo Herlihy (novel)

Cast : John Voight, Dustin Hoffman

Story : A naïve countryman, Joe Buck moves to New York to try  his luck as a male prostitute, the only problem is that he doesn’t know anybody, and no ties and not a lot idea how he should start otherwise he wouldn’t be stopping women  on the streets. But one day he meets Ratso, who pretends to know the ropes of the business.

What I Liked :

– The whole movie is sustained by the two lead actors: I always admired Dustin Hoffman, he is a brilliant actor with so many (…) movies behind he’s back, here he was just starting his career, but you can see he is going far (he got an Oscar nominations for this role, although he already showed great promise in The Graduate so I don’t know what I’m even talking about here). He delivered the role with effortless pain, his eyes were wrecking your heart from time to time, and that paired with John Voight’s childlike naivite was a guaranteed success.

– and John Voight, I was just so stunned to see him how much her daughter, Angelina Jolie resembles him. It was just unbelievable, the same face, their mimic, even the way they are acting, their mimic, it was like watching a male Angelina Jolie, really weird. Right now I’m about to start watching Deliverance and I’m so curios to see his face again and feel the same effect, it’s like some spell I’m under.

– the focal of the movie is the relationship between the two lead, how both of them longed for a connection, a friend and how finding each other was the single most important thing in their current life, they have built such a powerful friendship solely because the worst thing in life is loneliness, like if they wouldn’t have stick together they’d die alone. If you let this thought marinate it makes this movie just a little bit special

– there is a dream-chase-drug-trip-something-sequence (that was a great description) in the movie that will surely blew your mind, amazing work and the highlight of the movie

What I Didn’t Like :

– for me it felt like the movie was half-good and half-bad at the same time, I really liked the characters and they delivered, but I didn’t care at all for the story, coming from nowhere going to nowhere, there were a few scenes that were outstanding but it was outweighed by so many useless, boring ones I felt so many times that c’mon man this is pointless show me something ( for example the flashback’s from Joe’s past, I mean what was the reason I was showed, how did it really contributed to movie. Don’t get me wrong I saw the shadows of pain on Joe Buck’s life, but it was shown like 10 times, somehow it lost its meaning for me, and didn’t see a point in seeing one more frickin’ time.

-I felt disappointed by this one, I kept feeling there is something missing, but I just can’t put my finger on what exactly was that

Final Note :

2.5 out of 4

Interesting Facts :

– won 3 Oscars : Best Director (John Schlesinger), Best Picture (Jerome Hellman), Best Writing, Screenplay Based on Material from Another Medium (Waldo Salt)

– and was nominated to 4 more : Best Actor In Leading Role (John Voight and Dustin Hoffman); Best Actress in Supporting Role (Sylvia Miles); Best Film Editing (Hugh A. Robertson)

-Dustin Hoffman kept pebbles in his shoe to ensure his limp would be consistent from shot to shot

– John Schlesinger once said that the inspiration for this film came from a little-known Yugoslav movie, Kad budem mrtav i beo. An Andy Warhol film, My Hustler, also influenced the visual style.

(informations from imdb)

Trailer :

2 thoughts on “Midnight Cowboy [1969]

    • he probably wanted to shake his “young stud” image, I read somewhere the while filming in New york teens would flooded the streets screaming for him, even though he was dressed as Ratso girls were crazy after him:)))

Leave a Reply

