The Hobbit : An Unexpected Journey [2012]

hobbitposters“- You can promise that I will come back?
-No. And if you do, you will not be the same.”

Director : Peter Jackson

Writer : Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens, Peter Jackson, Guillermo del Toro, J.R.R. Tolkien ( novel “The Hobbit”)

Cast : Ian McKellen, Martin Freeman, Richard Armitage, Ken Stott, Graham McTavish, William Kircher, James Nesbitt, Stephen Hunter, Dean O’Gorman, Aidan Turner, John Callen, Peter Hambleton, Jed Brophy, Mark Hadlow, Adam Brown, Hugo Weaving, Cate Blanchett

Story :  Like you don’t know it already, but let’s play it out. The movie starts with Bilbo Baggins (Frodo’s uncle) reminiscing about his big adventure while preparing for his birthday. We already know what’s going to happen on that fateful evening and we even have a scene with Frodo anxiously waiting the arrival of Gandalf. Bilbo recalls the day Gandalf payed him a visit and set in a motion an unforgetable, life-changing journey with a simple sentence : I’m looking for someone to share in an adventure.

What I Liked :

– everything, I absolutely loved everything about his movie and I’m sure this didn’t come as a surprise.

– I was a bit afraid of its length, but I felt like only an hour and the half had passed when the film ended so kudos to Peter Jackson because the pacing was perfect. At the beginning it felt a tiny bit stretched, but otherwise perfect. It managed to keep the story flowing all time, there is no dull moment even when there is not much thing happening.

– loved the screenplay, no wasted words and I hate nothing more than wasted sentences.

–  Martin Freeman was the best choice, felt like the part was written for him, he manages to play with such nonchalance that you feel like you are watching your neighbor living his life. His acting skills just help you sink more in this Tolkien-Jackson world.

– Richard Armitage’s eyes put a spell on me. He has gorgeous blue eyes and play the heroic prince to the perfection.  In the scene where he climbs down from the burning tree and faces Azog I nearly fainted, it is a beautiful scene, of course, it was done over the top heroic and powerfully emotional on purpose, but for me it worked out perfectly, I was speechless.

– the cinematography is stunning as expected, the scenery is breath-taking and  the decision of 48 fps really played out, it created magnificent, clear image.

– one more thing I enjoyed, they managed to keep the story light and created quite a few humorous moments

What I Didn’t Like :

– Radagast : he didn’t quite fell in place, I haven’t read this book (yet!) so I don’t know how much he is in the story, but I know here it felt in plus

– forecasting the dark powers that will rise again ( Morgul blade, white council ) was a bit unnecessary, it’s not like we don’t know who will win in the end.  Although I loved watching the encounter between Bilbo and Smeagol . Having read LOTR and seeing on the screen the imagined scene was just blaring fun.

Final Note :

4 out of 4

Interesting Facts :

Richard Armitage has said that his first experience acting on stage was playing an elf in a theatrical production of The Hobbit. (imdb)

– Some chapter titles from the book are mentioned in dialogue, such as “a merry gathering” and “out of the frying pan and into the fire” and “roast mutton. (imdb)

Trailer :

 

3 thoughts on “The Hobbit : An Unexpected Journey [2012]

  1. Opinion on this movie seems pretty fiercely divided. Ironically, while you thought it was fine, it was the pacing that seemed to bother people.

    • I know. I was so sure I will get bored and wish I watched it at home so I can stop it and continue later, but I was totally caught in the moment. So for me the pacing worked perfectly. Only at the beginning did it felt a bit dragged as I mentioned. So what do you think pacing good or bad?

Leave a Reply

