The Fog [1980]

“There’s something in the fog!”

Director : John Carpenter

Writer : John Carpenter and Debra Hill

Cast : Adrienne Barbeau, Jamie Lee Curtis, Janet Leigh, Tom Atkins

Story : Just a typical little seaside town, where everybody knows everybody and nothing new or exciting ever happens. Now we are talking about a movie made by John Carpenter so it’s a fair to say this lovable town has a horrific past, which of course comes back to haunt the life out of the old nannies and hot hitchhikers.

What I Liked :

– there were some great scenes, like two or three, and Carpenter even got a scream out of me

– I couldn’t stop laughing at the dialog, made no sense, but at least now I have several catchphrases with my friend (we watched it together) and I would link here my favorite one, but I can’t find it, but I would be glad to hear if you have one

– it has that 80’s horror feel : you know it’s bad, but you still love it

– and Jamie Lee Curtis was one hot babe

What I Didn’t Like :

– the story is written poorly, even though it was based on a good idea; not much acting going on; you rather laugh when somebody dies; bad resolution of the conflict; and dialogs with no point at all; still being fair I watched it hungarian dubbed, so it could be a horrific translation, but I’m pretty sure it wasn’t much better

– sincerely 80’s horror made by John Carpenter you know exactly what you gonna get

Final Note :

3 out of 4

Interesting Facts :

– Carpenter said his inspirations were : a British film, The Crawling Eye which dealt with monsters hiding in the clouds and a trip with his co-write Debra Hill to Stonehenge, which was covered on fog during their visit. (imdb)

– When Father Malone first discovers the journal he glances at the title page, then flips to an open page of text that is partially blocked, and seen only for a split second. The visible portion reads (with spelling errors): “[something something] my college education to work writing dumb shit in this fucking movies props, Being one. It’s time to bring in the the words guide or the big tits, tatoos and shaved beavers. I know horny [blocked]s would go [blocked] some of that”. (imdb)

Trailer :

6 thoughts on “The Fog [1980]

Leave a Reply

