The Woman in the Window [1944]

“The streets were dark with something more than night. “

Director : Fritz Lang

Writer : J. H. Wallis (novel), Nunnally Johnson

Cast : Edward G. Robinson, Joan Bennett

Story : Richard Wanley professor at Gotham Collage’s psychology department goes out for a drink  with his friend a doctor and a district attorney at a man’s club while his family is out-of-town. He couldn’t help but notice a picture of a beautiful, young woman hanging at the next door window. Upon leaving he walks to the window to admire the portrait of woman again when she happens to walk by. This encounter stirs up Wanley’s boring life.

What I Liked About it :

– Joan Bennett – simply gorgeous

– the suspenseful storyline, you keep wondering if he will get out of the trouble or won’t he

What I Didn’t Like About It :

– the ending, I hated it so much that the whole film had left a bad taste in my  mouth, it was a huge let down

– I don’t like Edward J. Robinson, I can’t explain why but I just suffer whenever I see his face

Final Note :

2 out of 4

Trailer :

One thought on “The Woman in the Window [1944]

Leave a Reply

